Daniel Zapico, theorbo

Daniel Zapico was born in 1983 in Asturias (Spain). Since his early youth he has studied the field of Early Music, specializing in the theorbo in 1999. Along with Xavier Díaz-Latorre, he finished his High Studies with the maximum rating from the Escola Superior de Música de Catalunya (Barcelona, Spain). In 2012 he earned the Master's degree in Musicology, Musical Education and Interpretation of Early Music from the Autonomous University of Barcelona (Spain) receiving unanimous praise of the court for his degree project about Robert de Visée.

As a founding member of the ensemble Forma Antiqva, he has played extensively in important festivals throughout Spain and in several concert tours in Australia, Austria, Bolivia, Brazil, China, Ecuador, France, Germany, Greece, Holland, Japan, Mexico, Panama, Peru, Serbia and Singapore, obtaining the acclaim of the audience and critics. He has recorded seven albums as a member of Forma AntiqvaBizarro!!, Ins ólito Estupor, Sopra Scarlatti, Amore x Amore, Concerto Zapico, The Four Seasons by A. Vivaldi, Opera Zapico and the recently released Crudo Amor, awarded with the best ratings in several influential music magazines like Scherzo and Pizzicato SupersonicForma Antiqva is currently the resident ensemble at the Auditorio Palacio de Congresos «Príncipe Felipe» in Oviedo (Asturias, Spain) and is exclusive artist for the German label Winter&Winter.

He performs with Enrique Solinís and his brother Pablo Zapico in Pulsata3. This ensemble won the INJUVE Musical Circuits competition in 2004. He also usually collaborates with La Caravaggia (winners of the international contest Les Sacqueboutiers of Toulouse in 2006), La Ritirata (winner of El Ojo Crítico de Música Clásica award in 2013), and with the Orquesta Barroca de Sevilla (winner of the National Music Prize 2011). He also participates with important figures in the music scene including Philippe Pierlot (Ricercar Consort), Emilio Moreno (El Concierto Español or La Real Cámara), Christina Pluhar (L'Arpeggiata), Michael Hofstetter (Orquesta del Liceu Barcelona), Leonardo García Alarcón (Cappella Mediterranea), Ara Malikian, Fahmi Alqhai (Accademia del Piacere), Manfredo Kraemer, Andrea De Carlo (Mare Nostrum), Andrea Marchiol (B'Rock), Riccardo Muti, Kenneth Weiss, Gabriel Garrido, Enrico Onofri, Petra Müllejans, Margaret Faultless, Chiara Banchini, and Attilio Cremonesi (Orquesta del Gran Teatro La Fenice).

In 2006 Daniel received an award from the Académie Baroque Européenne d´Ambronay for his performance as main theorbo in the opera Ercole Amante, directed by Gabriel Garrido.  In 2007 he was selected by the European Union Baroque Orchestra (EUBO) as main theorbo player, for two separate tours of Ercole Armante, directed by Christina Pluhar and Margaret Faultless, respectively. Likewise, he has been invited for a tour with this orchestra in 2008 with Enrico Onofri renewing a professional relationship with him whom he had previously performed on BBC Radio3, a project with Chiara Banchini (august, 2008) and a tour with Petra Müllejans (november, 2009).

Highlights of his recordings include the Virgin Classics CD-DVD Vespro della Beata Vergine by Claudio Monteverdi with L'Arpeggiata and a recording for the television channel Mezzo with La Caravaggia during the Réseau Européen de Musique Ancienne (REMA) showcase.

He has, since 2008, taught Early Plucked Instruments at the Conservatorio Profesional de Música de Zaragoza (Spain). In 2009 he began teaching at the Academia de Música Antigua de Gijón (AMAG) and has conducted masterclassess at the University of Melbourne (Australia), Le Rocher de Palmer (Cenon, France), The Yong Siew Toh Conservatory of Music (National University of Singapore), and the VII International Seminar of Albarracín(Spain) in addition to two transcription seminars at the Conservatorio Superior de Música de Aragón (Spain) in 2012 and 2013.

Daniel Zapico was awarded the distinction of «Asturiano del Mes» by the newspaper La Nueva España, the «Grupo del Año 2010» by the Televisión del Principado de Asturias, the Serondaya Prize for Cultural Innovation in Asturiasand the «Premio de la Música en Asturias».